Reviews

The Stag hotel, Lyndhurst - Rating 5/5

An excellent stay - good food and comfortable rooms

Reviewer:Kenneth A | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 days ago


Good location- Rating 4/5

A lovely hotel and very good location.

Reviewer:Jacqueline R | Thu 18th Jul 2019 | 5 days ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night and found that the location, the rooms, the service and the breakfast were excellent. The car park is tucked away at the rear of the hotel. Lyndhurst is a lovely place to have a walk around.

Reviewer:James H | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 1 week ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

We stayed here as a stop over on our way for a weekend break in Weymouth. The staff were friendly, our room was clean, and comfortable and check out was quick and easy. We really couldn’t fault our stay, and will certainly return.

Reviewer:JOHN P | Sat 6th Jul 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

We had a very nice stay here at the Stag.Large room,clean nice hot shower,comfy bed.Staff very nice. We ate here on both nights.Its basic pub food but to our taste.Breakfast was lovely ,freshly cooked.Busy road but traffic died down in the evening so wasn't a problem sleeping.

Reviewer:Berenice L | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Very nice hotel , good size rooms and clean .Staff friendly and helpful. Ideal location for visting the New Forest

Reviewer:Alan E | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 3 weeks ago


mr - Rating 5/5

A excellent stay again can not fault it staff great and helpful as always

Reviewer:Chris d | Thu 13th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


One night - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff. Nice room, good bed. Wifi was okay. Lots of trafic which you could hear very well. Diner and breakfast very nice !

Reviewer:Mrs. M.J.M. B | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Review - Rating 5/5

As usual a very pleasant stay at a reasonable cost. Ideal location for our annual visit to Beaulieu for the Mini Cooper meeting.

Reviewer:Victor W | Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Stay at The Stag - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming staff. Our room was excellent but another has an issue with the shower and another had a small leak through their ceiling. I’m sure that these problems will be attended to soon.Good hearty breakfast.

Reviewer:Neill T | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Although we arrived at a busy time we were made welcome, the room was comfortable and the breakfast delicious, Nicky was an exceptional host and we would recommend The Stag without reservation.

Reviewer:Len F | Sun 2nd Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Stopover- Rating 4/5

Lovely clean quirky rooms.Staff helpful and friendly.Food lovely and good value.Only down side was the road noise.

Reviewer:Tracy S | Wed 29th May 2019 | 1 month ago


our stay in May at the Stag - Rating 5/5

As usual the Stag came up tops for us. We have stayed in a lot of places in the Lyndhurst area , but the Stag is just our favourite place and right for us. We have always found the staff helpful and as an example our shower has broken,and upon mentioning this to Nicky, it was fixed the same day. The Sunday roast is one of our favourites and such good value for money. The three night stay we had was comfortable and we always find our room to be cleaned and tidied for us. The Stag offers really good value for money, and somewhere we have stayed on many occasions in preference to other hotels.

Reviewer:H | Tue 28th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Positive review - Rating 5/5

Nice food, comfortable bed, pleasant staff,no problems, we would likely come again.Many thanks.

Reviewer:tim j | Mon 27th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Week end away - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely weekend, the staff were very friendly and the room was nice and spacious, only downside was the road noise.

Reviewer:stephen l | Mon 20th May 2019 | 2 months ago


One night in Lyndhurst - Rating 4/5

We had a good one night stay in lyndhurst following a wedding. The room was very comfortable

Reviewer:linda b | Mon 13th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Hi Nicky,We very much enjoyed our stay with you at the Stag Hotel, New Forest, you &your staff made us feel very welcome. It was a shame that we had to cut the holiday a day short due to our unfortunate circumstances, of losing our dog shortly before, but thank you for your understanding.Kind regardsAlan &Jane Harrison

Reviewer:Alan H | Fri 10th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Old fashioned but still modern - Rating 5/5

My wife and i had a lovely couple of days at the hotel. Food was lovely, the bedroom was lovely.everything was lovely and clean. Bar staff where cheerful and nothing was to much of an effort. Would recommend this with no problem. In fact we are talking of going back in the autumn.

Reviewer:i | Thu 2nd May 2019 | 2 months ago


What a gem- Rating 5/5

We stayed on our way back from a weekend with family in Christchurch, we enjoyed and excellent roast dinner followed by football in the pub, a special note to Louise who was attentive and interrupted her own lunch to ensure I could get into my room to watch Tiger Woods win the Masters for golf fans we will all know where we were when he won his 5th Masters.....the Stag will be that for me....breakfast was great and everything seamless I would recommend the Stag without reservation.

Reviewer:Andre M | Tue 16th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


A pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

A pleasant stay, in comfortable clean surroundings with helpful staff.Excellent breakfast served in the morning!

Reviewer:joy m | Wed 10th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Weekend Away - Rating 4/5

Stayed at Lyndhurst before never stayed at the Stag, have eaten there and the food was lovely.Room 2 is a large room with nice bath room and very comfortable bed. Only thing was car noise in the morning.Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Adrian B | Tue 9th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Wonderful weekend- Rating 5/5

Our room at the Stag hotel was large, clean and very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again 😀Dawn and Andy from Taplow

Reviewer:Dawn S | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


06:39 - Rating 5/5

Excellent family run hotel &pub. Staff great - very accomdating.Room clean, quiet and comfortable.Free off road parking.Price includes breakfast if you book directly with them.Perhaps bed in need of a mattress upgrade

Reviewer:steve m | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


1 night stay - Rating 4/5

It was a comfortable stay,lovely beer garden. Nice room and good breakfast

Reviewer:Bernice V | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely Host & Hotel- Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Stag Hotel for the night with my partnerfantastic location Hotel brilliant and the Host Nikki lovely lovely lady.We will return

Reviewer:Nicola K | Sun 31st Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


Recent stay at the Stag Hotel. - Rating 4/5

Comfortable and spacious room and bathroom. Good food and service from most helpful and friendly staff. Excellent location. Good value. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:barbara d | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


Good hotel - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, clean rooms and a good breakfast. Room was a bit dated but very comfortable and considering it's in the centre and above a pub we didn't find it too noisy.

Reviewer:Louise M | Sun 10th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


Weekend half term break - Rating 5/5

We stayed in a family room with our 2 grandchildren for a sat night as part of a weekend break from London. The room was really spacious, beds comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast very good and staff very attentive. The children were in awe of the stuffed animals! Good value for money thankyou, would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:ireane r | Mon 25th Feb 2019 | 4 months ago


Staff were very helpful.- Rating 5/5

Had a pleasant stay at the stag as staff were very friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Kevin S | Wed 20th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Nice short break - Rating 5/5

Excellent location to base for visiting family in the area. Nice food, friendly staff and comfortable seating and beds.

Reviewer:Michael S | Tue 29th Jan 2019 | 5 months ago


Great location - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our couple nights at The Stag Hotel. Right in the centre of Lyndhurst made it really convenient.The room was spacious and clean and the staff really couldn't do enough for us.

Reviewer:T | Thu 24th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Great weekend- Rating 5/5

Stayed fora weekend and found the staff and the cleanliness was five star plus, Even the locals made you feel welcome so I’m sure I will be coming back

Reviewer:Jamie M | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Great weekend- Rating 5/5

Stayed fora weekend and found the staff and the cleanliness was five star plus, Even the locals made you feel welcome so I’m sure I will be coming back

Reviewer:Jamie M | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Very Friendly- Rating 4/5

As soon as I arrived I was made very welcome. Everyone was really friendly and accommodating. As there were some nicer rooms available than the one I had booked, I was offered an upgrade at no extra cost.

Reviewer:L | Sun 23rd Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


A good choice- Rating 4/5

Really nice pub with perfectly adequate rooms for a comfortable stay. Food was great and run by really friendly staff.

Reviewer:Marc R | Sun 16th Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


Great time thank you- Rating 5/5

The second occasion we have stayed at the Stag, and again very pleased! The staff a terrific and friendly, and the breakfast is second to none! See you next December! XXXX

Reviewer:tom j | Sun 9th Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


The Stag Hotel. Lyndhurst - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful staff. Had a twin room which was very clean and comfortable. We had a lovely evening meal and enjoyed wonderful entertainment at the bar in the evening. Will definitely be coming here again!

Reviewer:natasha p | Sun 9th Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


Very Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Just stayed one night after a walk in the Forest.Very comfortable bed and room, and very friendly staff.

Reviewer:Tom W | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Stag hotel lyndhurst- Rating 4/5

Nice quite room, clean and tidy... staff very friendly,Food was nice and hot all the time, nice choice on menu, close to shops.. would recommend

Reviewer:Kim O | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Nice Stay - Rating 5/5

Beds comfy, breakfast very good, room good and clean. staff helpful, parking a great bonus. Location excellant

Reviewer:Helen P | Thu 4th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff. Great location in the town with parking. Lovely food and atmosphere .

Reviewer:micheal b | Sat 29th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the stag was great, the staff were brilliant, breakfast was amazing and the room was just what we wanted. The room had everything you could ask for and much more like a hotel chain than an independent pub.Would highly recommend this place if you are ever in Lyndhurst.

Reviewer:Helen F | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


one night - Rating 5/5

the staff, food and hotel were great and would stay there again.

Reviewer:Stephen W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Comfortable and welcoming- Rating 5/5

Welcoming greeting from staff, comfortable room in a lovely village

Reviewer:Susannah B | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Good base to explore the Forest - Rating 5/5

Efficient and friendly staff. Comfortable room, nice warming atmosphere. Well done The Stag again

Reviewer:Graham A | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Mr - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel I would definitely go back

Reviewer:Sam A | Thu 30th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


anniversary stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed the stay, bed was very comfortable and nice clean room, bathroom spotless with hot water, nice hotel and staff, good location, nice breakfast

Reviewer:richard c | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Central location - Rating 4/5

Have stayed in better. But it was a nice place with clean rooms. Breakfast lovely. Didn’t eat there for dinner. Staff friendly. One complaint made to fix flush on toilet. Still the same next day. Left so didn’t need to complain again.

Reviewer:Tracy G | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We spent a very comfortable night at the Stag. Good breakfast and comfortable room. Reception and staff very helpful and welcoming.

Reviewer:Peter W | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Accommodation for an event at Weddings in the woods- Rating 4/5

Attending a special party and needed comfortable accommodation in Lyndhurst. The Stag Hoteloffered a lovely room and parking in the centre of the village. Excellent cooked breakfast. The only issue was the steep and narrow stairs to the room in the attic. And lack of good signage to find the room when returning in the late evening when the bar was closed.

Reviewer:Pat M | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely Pub Hotel - Rating 5/5

Clean rooms, friendly staff, lovely convenient location, great beer and a great breakfast too! Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Matthew D | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay in a great location - Rating 5/5

We just spent one night in the Stag.Very spacious room with extremely comfortable beds.Our room was at the rear of the pub and was very peaceful.Breakfast was just right.Staff were great and on site car park was very convenient.I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

Reviewer:Linda C | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Greet going to stay here every year- Rating 5/5

Great hotel very clean nice food got the whole packageHighly recommend

Reviewer:Barry W | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Greet going to stay here every year- Rating 5/5

Great hotel very clean nice food got the whole packageHighly recommend

Reviewer:Barry W | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice old style hotel in good location - Rating 5/5

Staff were super, beds were soft, food was good, breakfast was excellent.All in all first class - would not hesitate to stay there again

Reviewer:Graham T | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Enjoyed our stay - Rating 4/5

As expected from a good pub chain - well presented clean and welcoming. Enjoyed a good steak and hunters chicken plus drinks all sensibly priced. Would stay there again if ever in the area. Thank you.

Reviewer:Richard H | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Our comments - Rating 4/5

Couldn't open the small top window nor one in the bathroom. Bed comfortable but too warm for me, that's just me! Like the notice re towels too. Mother at 93 found stairs very difficult with no banister rail, something to concider.

Reviewer:ian h | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


The stag Hotel - Rating 4/5

Had a nice time at the stag staff were very friendly and very helpful good breakfast and evening meal and we will be going again in the future Rob and Mandy

Reviewer:Amanda F | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Very Good - Rating 5/5

Clean, tidy and easy to find. Would happily stay here again.

Reviewer:James T | Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Great weekend - Rating 4/5

Lovely room, lovely breakfast, lovely service.Very enjoyable thank you

Reviewer:b | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay following family wedding at Brockenhurst. - Rating 4/5

Excellent value for money- would stay there again !

Reviewer:Graham B | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Good choice - Rating 4/5

Great position from which to explore the forest. Our room was small but spotless with a lovely large bathroom. We ate there and the menu was extensive and the meals were very good.

Reviewer:Hilary L | Wed 16th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect Family feeling - Rating 4/5

Hotel is complete And Very cleanThe service is Family FriendlyPerfect place to Be

Reviewer:Gunter V | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Anniversary Weekend - Rating 5/5

We chose this hotel to stay for our wedding anniversary. Everything was excellent from the very friendly staff, great accommodation and wonderful food, we ended up eating there every evening as well as enjoying the full English breakfast. The hotel is very central for getting around the New Forest area.

Reviewer:Glynis B | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


March break - Rating 4/5

The staff at the Stag hotel were friendly and amenable. They helped with luggage, local advice and cooked us very tasty full English Breakfasts. It was freezing outside but the rooms were warm. Bed and bathroom clean and comfortable etc.

Reviewer:Elizabeth M | Thu 8th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


No complaints - Rating 4/5

Stayed here as a base to catch up with friends ... large room and parking on site. Staff helpful and friendly and food very good. No complaints.No issues with noise as bar was closed before we even got back to room !!

Reviewer:Rob R | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Good place to stay for short break with friends - Rating 4/5

Although our room was small, it had everything required, the bed and pillows were comfortable and clean, the bathroom was a good size, and although the shower had a tendency to go hot and cold at times was more than adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful and although the hotel guide warned of possible noise on Friday nights due to entertainment when we got back about 11.30pm all was quiet. Our friends stayed in a larger room at the front but were not disturbed by any road noise. The breakfast was fab with cereals and juices and a cooked breakfast to order. This was a good choice for meeting up in a location central to both of us, although Lyndhurst itself is not a big place

Reviewer:Andrea M | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Xmas break - Rating 4/5

Hi Nicky and Brian,Thankyou, we enjoyed our break very much. Very comfortable bed, better than my own. Food wasgreat and you and your staff were friendly, just a shame it was a quiet time of year😀all the best for the New year Irene and Alan🥂

Reviewer:Irene B | Thu 28th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


weekend away - Rating 5/5

myself &my partner stayed here, for the weekend as it was his birthday.We had a lovely time, th accomadation was nice bed very comfy the food was really nice and staff were very friendly would certainly come back again

Reviewer:sharon l | Mon 18th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Superb! - Rating 5/5

What a beautiful hotel. We had room 2, which was stunning, the bed and quality of linen used was excellent. The food was perfect and the helpfulness of the staff was amazing. They went above and beyond to help me as I am disabled.Will definitely be returning and with friends.

Reviewer:Linda B | Fri 15th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Stag - Rating 4/5

Very helpful and comfortable

Reviewer:Rachelle S | Sun 10th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Week end away- Rating 5/5

We stayed on a Friday night, the hotel was great, lovely food, good beer, relaxed atmosphere. They had entertainment on in the bar which was nice. The room was lovely and so was the en-suite. The breakfast was great too

Reviewer:Carol K | Sat 9th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Christmas break to meet Santa - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time staying at The Stag Hotel. The staff were great and very accommodating. They went out of their way to make our children feel welcome and even let our Son help them switch the Christmas lights on which he loved. The family room was comfortable and a great size for our family of 4. It had plenty of room for a travel cot and we still had space to move around when it was up. The food was delicious and good portion sizes too. There was a lot of choice and the kids menu was very reasonable for what you got. The puddings were delicious. We stayed for one night as we were visiting Beaulie and Christmas at Peppa Pig World. It was the ideal location for our mini get away and we enjoyed exploring Lyndhurst high street before dinner as all the Christmas lights were on. Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back.

Reviewer:laura c | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

The Stag was a great place to base ourselves in the New Forrest. The staff are a delight, rooms were great and on the high street so easy to wander around. The breakfast is also fab! Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Samantha S | Wed 8th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Great location easy parking behind hotel - Rating 4/5

Great location. Friendly staff.Easy parking behind hotel.Rooms on road side do have some traffic noise.

Reviewer:John P | Sat 28th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


one night stay - Rating 4/5

Thanks to all the staff at the Stag for a short but veryenjoyable stay.....the triple room was very spacious...beds comfy...the evening meal was excellent...I had beef and ale pie.which looked home made.and was absolutely superb...the wife had fish and chips.which looked very nice....the breakfast was equally good..oh..and a mention forthe evening entertainment. A female vocalist .Jane..great!..yes.I woulddefinitelyrecommendthe Stag Hotel.

Reviewer:rob A | Sun 15th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

- really well situated- very friendly staff- good food- parking- clean rooms

Reviewer:Alexandre F | Sat 7th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay. - Rating 5/5

Great central location to all of the New Forest. Room was clean and tidy and had decent chairs in it not hard plastic ones and plenty of cupboard space. Decent size bed. Staff were friendly and helpful and a great breakfast. would happily stay there again.

Reviewer:MARIAELIZABETHJ W | Sun 1st Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


2night b&b - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel, enjoyed our stay very much.excellent breakfast.Thank youJohn &Carol Dalman

Reviewer:John D | Fri 22nd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Good, value for money place - Rating 4/5

Decent centrally located pub/hotel.

Reviewer:Anil S | Fri 1st Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Would stay again - Rating 5/5

Booked this hotel for family for a graduation event. Excellent staff. Very friendly. Dog friendly as when we had our evening meal the owner arranged the chef to make sausages for the dogs. Can't rate the staff enough.

Reviewer:violet W | Sun 27th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from our stay at the Stag Hotel, it was a lovely stay we went to the New Forest for my Dad's 80th birthday, the rooms were comfortable the food lovely and the staff so attentive.We will deffinately return a fantastic choice.

Reviewer:Anita K | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Really good - Rating 4/5

Hotel was clean and tidy, staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was great, had steak and chips and it was really tasty. If I was being really picky I would say that the bed was not the most comfortable in the world but I would happily stay there again.

Reviewer:Ian P | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


B and B at the Stag - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable room, clean well cared for. Staff friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Vincent J | Sun 16th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


July 2017 - Rating 5/5

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Lovely staff, very helpful and friendly. Great location. Good breakfast!

Reviewer:Marie H | Sun 9th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic food - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming, nice place to stay, food was excellent

Reviewer:Daniel S | Fri 9th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Stag hotel lyndhurst - Rating 5/5

A very nice hotel right in the centre of lyndhurst very clean room, friendly staff made the stay even better nothing was to much trouble, highly recommend,and a great breakfast.

Reviewer:Gary N | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Enjoyed my stay and would come again- Rating 5/5

I was part of a group with several rooms at the hotel. Whilst the hotel may be a little dated I found the room and ensuite very clean and tidy. Plenty of parking and situated in the centre of Lyndhurst.I was impressed with the staff at check in and check out.Breakfast was a joy and the person serving couldn't do enough for us. Enjoyed the stay and will be back.

Reviewer:Charles D | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Contact

The Stag Hotel
High Street
Lyndhurst
Hampshire
SO43 7BE

02380282999
E-Mail

Our Facilities

  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Wifi